Procrastination: the mother of invention. Better yet ~ MOTHERHOOD: the mother of invention!

Thought I’d share this quick card idea I came up with.

Not sure which caused it…procrastination, or that I’m a MOM and have so much on my mind that I kept forgetting to buy cards…. but I was in a bind last week and needed cards quick. So I got some card stock, water paints, and my daughter Ryley (22 months old). While she painted random scribbles on simple white card stock, I got on the computer and printed simple birthday messages on separate card stock. Then I tore the bottom edge off the bottom of the card covers using a ruler as a guide. By the time I cleaned water paint off the table, floor, and Ryley’s hands/face/arms, her artwork was almost dry. Then I cut pieces and used doubled sided tape to fasten them to the cards. On the bottom card below, I used the same piece of art but cut a small strip out to create interest.  You could also tear the artwork into pieces rather than cutting it! 

 

 

 

 

VOILA!

 

Water paints: 99 cents

Card stock: about 25 cents

Receiving homemade cards with handmade artwork from your 22 month old granddaughter, niece, cousin: PRICELESS!

One response to “Procrastination: the mother of invention. Better yet ~ MOTHERHOOD: the mother of invention!

  1. that looks really nice!
    especially the thought of your 22month old being part of it. im sure friends and relatives would love to receive a card like that.
    thanks for the great idea
    x

Leave a Reply

